An Online Portfolio

I just asked my husband what he would like me to write about and this is what he said, “I want to know why women don’t like the Three Stooges.”

Three StoogesReally? Of all the thoughts that go through my mind THIS is the question that keeps him up at night? Well, ok, here goes. This is why I don’t like the Three Stooges.

First of all, I want to clarify that I don’t hate them. Not in a loathing kind of way. They’re funny for about the first five minutes but how many times can you see eye poking and ear pulling before it just looks mean?

Here’s another reason, personality-wise I don’t really like them. They are annoying people. Can you imagine having to wait in line with them? Those accents and the mumbling they do while insulting each other. And, of course, they are completely accurate in their insulting assessments. I bet they smell, too. All that hair grease dripping down their faces and sweating inside their wool suits. I know it was the style back then, but most stylish people don’t work up a sweat by throwing themselves into tables full of food. Just sayin’.

I just read this to my husband and he told me that it is insulting on multiple levels. Thanks. I’ll take that as a compliment.

What I think is insulting is the way the other people are portrayed in the movies. I mean, seriously, how would these guys ever get any women, especially good looking ones. And the rich people. Surely, they couldn’t have been that stereotypical in those days. Please, tell me that just because you were rich it didn’t mean you had to talk like you had a bunch of marbles in your mouth.

So, after about five minutes the humor is gone for me and I’m back talking to my three year old. Who, I might add, knows that you don’t put hot irons down someone’s pants and can actually figure out how to use a tape measure pretty easily.

Comments on: "What My Husband Wants To Know" (24)

  1. The reason I loathed them as a child (and haven’t seen them since) was because of the vindictive attitudes. I have never been able to watch cruelty. (But my brother, whom I adore and is a great husband and father, enjoyed watching them.) Why did most males seem to be able to look past the meanness to (what they could somehow appreciate as) humor?

    • They are tiring. How much meanness can one person have in them? My mom really didn’t like them. Like you, she just couldn’t watch that much meanness. Thanks for reading, Kathy. : )

  2. I prefer humor that is a bit more complex. That said, I think Jim Cary’s physical comedy is hilarious, but in small doses.

  3. Trudy said:

    I can’t even get through 5 minutes 🙂

  4. Rhonda Hill said:

    Well, I haven’t watched them since I was a kid. I have to agree that it’s just not that funny for any length of time. I do like the nostalgic, “ol timeness”, of them and that they still carry fans after all these years… just not women.

    • Laughing at someone walking into, say, a glass door can be funny for a moment but that humor can’t be sustained for long. ; ) I like the nostalgic look and feel of it, too. It’s surprising how they seem somewhat innocent just because of that style…ok, maybe a better choice of words is childish.

  5. I just couldn’t have said it better myself! Sorry Mac, you’re wife is right on this one 🙂

  6. OMG! My husband has just threatened me with a “Stooge Fest” this weekend! Help me!!

  7. I’m with you, Dena. Never liked them, never thought they were funny. Cruelty of any kind just isn’t funny to me–I don’t like the America’s Funniest Videos when they focus on people getting hurt either. It makes me mad. I did like Abbott and Costello though…they were funny most of the time! 🙂

  8. Judy Bell said:

    Totally agree with Dena! I am the Mom of if this Three Stooges fanatic—-think what I went through for 18 plus years. All the negative stimulation has caused early dementia, oh well,
    I won’t know about it.

  9. Tina, I agree about America’s Funniest Videos — those DO seem mean to me, best I remember.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

