An Online Portfolio

Please, press play then come back to read while it plays. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7eFn8Cgcx8g

 ________________________________________________________________________________________

A few years ago I had an echocardiogram and as I lay on the examination table and watched my heart steadily beat I was struck by the thought that this action, one I barely even think about, represented the difference between living and dying for me. Only me. This heartbeat was mine alone.

Twenty-two days after conception, before your existence is even known, your heart contracts for the very first time. A movement that begins the machine that is your body, and it continues beating with the same movement of muscle tissue throughout your entire life. It’s with you as you gasp your first breath at birth, grows with you as you run and play as a child, it might skip a beat at the sight of your true love and it surely aches during times of loss. It’s truly the only constant throughout your life, and the moment your heartbeat stops marks the end of your existence on this earth.

What a magical thing.

I don’t know when a soul enters a body or when “life” begins, that’s not what this post is about. I just know the function your heart performs is bigger than just mechanical and when this one small, naturally-occurring, automatic action stops our bodies stop, too.

What a profound thing, the heart.

Comments on: "Life is A Heartbeat" (3)

  1. Beautiful, Dena!!!!!

  2. Tweeted and promoted your post to my 5000 + followers. Would love a return of favor. Tweet and promote (FB) with a click, my post on Technorati? Thanks. It’s about the US Open at: http://technorati.com/sports/outdoor/article/after-76-years-a-brit-finally/

    You can find my writing at the following links.

    Technorati The Fat and the Skinny A Christian Apologist’s Sonnets

    Carole M. Di Tosti, Ph.D. 83-33 118th Apt 6H Kew Gardens, NY 11415

  3. I found this weblog very funny and I just wanna say thanks. I hope you keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

