An Online Portfolio

The Pledge

“I pledge allegiance to my Flag and the Republic for which it stands-                     one nation indivisible-with liberty and justice for all.”

On September 8, 1892 the Boston based childrens’ magazine, “The Youth’s Companion”, published a patriotic pledge written by its circulation manager, Francis Bellamy. It was sent out to public schools across the country, which started the tradition of receiting “The Pledge of Alligence” every morning before class. After my own numerous receitations during my school years, I still remember the words today–although the version I was taught had an addition that wasn’t part of the original pledge.

Can you spot what phrase is missing?

Comments on: "The Pledge" (6)

  1. I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America….Indivisible under God..Did I win?? 🙂

  2. I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America. And to the republic for which it stands, one nation, UNDER GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all. LET IT BE SO. AMEN.

  3. john soliz said:

    It is impossible for me to think our flag stil has the power and significance compared to the inspiration and magic derived from only a handful of years earlier winning our independence. That good feeling was there during the first world war and brought lumps to our throats repeating it every morning in school after the second world war. American fought for freedom. But that was then.

    In my opinion, the flag beganing losing the power of its meaning in Korea. It was our first police action resulting in more than fifty thousand americans in just two years to lose their lives. Then Viet Nam, an undeclared war which our government peddled as a war to stop the spread of communism. Ten years, almost sixty thousand americans died, and we lost .
    Oh, yea how could I forget. There was that catchy line about “peace with honor”.

    Growing up in the sixties I believed “…with liberty and justice for all”. It was easy to buy into the idea of beinging the greatest nation on earth. But after seeing us constantly at war
    while almost all Americans never scarifice. Today the only participation people take that I can see is the mandatory standing at the beginning of sports event…”oh say can you see”.

    Well I am sure you think I am terrible and a traitor which would be wrong. I wore the uniform
    and fought in combat. When I hear the pledge, now, it makes me mad. I can’t help but think about the war machine smiling at all the little people buying into the gimmick. We are no longer the peace makers and sader still the greatest country.

    • You won’t hear any disparaging remarks from me about what you’re saying, John. To me, the idea of what it meant to be an American is much different from what people 100 years ago knew it to be, and even more so than what our founding fathers probably imagined. Today’s education system does not require skills in critical thinking, is not financially supported and its importance is played down while the privileged class is exalted. We’re being spoon-fed what the media wants us to think without gathering independent facts, evaluating the situation, and coming to the conclusions our own ethical acumen and intelligence tells us is right, then standing up and participating in the systems provided to us to initiate change. It’s a broken system and it begins with how we, as a society, value education. The noble act of Leaning has been made fun of, not financially supported and used as a political took without regard to what it means to be an educated society for far too long. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

