An Online Portfolio

It’s Coming

The storm came on suddenly.

A bank of clouds steamrolling in from the West. Brewing like a witch’s cauldron, it changes from blue to green and blots out the sun.

Electricity slices across the sky and I see layers of clouds spinning counterclockwise above me.

Deafening thunder explodes…around me…through me…inside me. 

Its percussion hits then trails off into nothingness, taking my heartbeat with it. As the storm bears down, the wind switches directions and turns cold.

I smell rain.

A depression develops in the clouds, sucking the air from my lungs as it expands outward. The tip of a funnel cloud emerges from its center. Descending then pulling back…choosing where to land…deciding what to destroy.

Another funnel cloud forms and connects with the earth, turning the tornado brown.

It’s coming closer; stealthily crawling across the field.

Cowering in a ravine, I cling to the roots of the trees around me. Their tops twist wildly with the wind and send vibrations down through the trunk to shake me uncontrollably. Branches begin splintering apart and clumps of dirt hit me like bullets as the roots work their way free of the embankment.

My body becomes weightless and lifts into the air. My shoes are sucked from my feet and disappear. I hang on tightly; hugging the only anchor I have.

I’m being tossed about like a rag doll and I feel my bones snapping to pieces. 

The tornado’s vacuum is pulling me away to be destroyed just like the trees

… and roots

…and dirt.

Comments on: "It’s Coming" (6)

  1. You write beautiful poetry! I love that you added a picture too. I want to invite you to a weekly event we host called Picture it & Write. My coauthor hosts a writing exercise where she posts a picture and an accompanying paragraph of fiction then welcomes other writers to continue her story, post their own paragraph, or leave a poem related to the picture. We post the new image every Sunday but you’re welcome to comment on any of the old ones.
    -Elia

    http://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/category/picture-it-write/

    • Thank you so much! I would love to join in. I’ve added the blog to my ‘Favs” and will be checking in regularly. This style of writing is quickly becoming my favorite. Thanks again for the invite! –Dena

  2. I do Not miss those funnel clouds and tornadoes!

  3. Wounderful use of words to make a great poetic drama.

  4. cherrykola@mac.com said:

    Again – as I read your writing I begin to feel everything as if I am there . . . I am wondering what anchor you had to hang on to? Not a boat anchor, I assume.

    Great photo too . . . thanks so much for sharing your stories.

  5. Rhonda said:

    Nice, Dena. We went and seen the IMAX movie about tornados…… what extreme power…your words did a nice job of describing that force of nature.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

